Alright, I have never had anything good come from a history class before. I can never retain even half of the information I learn and they always just seem to be the weak point in my GPA.
Well, my passion is music and performing, so I thought it would be a good idea to take Music 201 as my Civilization credit. I didn't think that it would be an easy class, but I also didn't expect it to be the most ridiculous class I've ever taken.
I understand that in order to learn about the history of music we must learn about the history of other aspects of the times we're talking about. We need to understand what living conditions were like in certain parts of the world and in certain parts of those societies, but I think this class goes way to far.
First, as a little disclaimer, the Professor is an incredible teacher and I have thoroughly enjoyed listening to the way he explains this.
Honestly, music is the smallest part of this class. We spend most of our time learning about art, architecture, literature, governments and religions. Yes, those are essential pieces of information, because music reflects the times and places in which we live, but 90% of all that stuff and 10% music is not what I signed up for.
Not to mention the amount of information that we are learning. I really think that if this course is going to continue to have this much detailed information that it should be split into two semesters.
I don't want to sound like somebody who complains a lot, because I don't, really. It's just that this has been a crazy class to take and I'm really not looking forward to those 5 people who get a 98% on the final. . . I took this class for a reason and with a desire to learn, but it has overwhelmed me to the point that I just don't even care anymore. I think next semester I'll give humanities 202 a try.
No comments:
Post a Comment